Raleigh - Cary Home Reviews & Market News!: Benefits of Using a Real Estate Agent - Making Appointments

Your Resource for Raleigh, Cary, Apex, Holly Springs, Morrisville, Fuquay-Varina, Wake Forest & Surrounding Areas!

Benefits of Using a Real Estate Agent - Making Appointments

This is part of a series of the Benefits of Using a Realtor® or Real Estate Agent.  There are many Great Reasons to use a Realtor®.  However, there are some you many not even think about. 

Have you ever thought about what it takes to make all those appointments when viewing homes?

Making appointments to show homes has become a lot simpler.  There was a time when Real Estate Agents had to carry around a book of all the listings, had to call agents or sellers to schedule appointments, wait for return calls, look at maps on a wall, etc.  You can imagine how great it was when you could find all the local listings on the computer in MLS.

Now, although it is a bit more easy to get the information, scheduling has some of the same challenges.

1. You have to find out what the specific requirements the seller has of the showing.  We have more vacant homes than ever but, they may not have electricity (i.e. lights). That's another story.  Some sellers only require you to email and/or leave them a voice mail.  Some have specific reasons they require an appointment.

2. You want to make the most of your time so you first want to map out the properties.  Fortunately, our MLS now has an online map in which you can see where all the properties you're planning to view are located.  This makes putting them in proper order easier.

3. Once they are in the order that works for you, you begin the process of setting the times and scheduling them.  When you first meet a client, you don't know if they are the type who are in and out quickly or if they need 30 minutes or more.  You have to account for driving time as well as bathroom and food breaks.  Then you either schedule them online (as I do) and wait for a confirmation, or you make the call to the showing service to schedule them.  The showing service is generally paid by Real Estate Agents via the MLS service.

4. The fun comes in when you can't have access on the date or time requested.  We all know, sellers have lives too.  However, when your buyer is only in town for the weekend and want to see that one house, you will accommodate their request and re-arrange your schedule.  How about when they cancel completely?  Then you sometimes have to back up and re-schedule other showings.  Otherwise, your driving around waiting for that appointment.

It takes a lot more time than one might think.  I'm pretty sure I showed over 1000 homes last year alone.  Fortunately, I love my job and I love my clients.

Can you imagine as a seller having all those different Real Estate Agents or Buyers calling you direct at all times of the day and night to get into your home or just showing up at the door?

Can you imagine as a buyer calling the sellers and having them keep you on the phone for eternity telling you why you must purchase their home?

So, as Realtor's®, we take the headache out of schedule.  You have one person to schedule with and that's your Real Estate Agent.

Raleigh Cary Apex Realtor Carla Freund Realty

Presented by:

Carla Freund of Ask Realtor Carla

Carla Freund Realty Team

Keller Williams Preferred Realty

By Carla Freund Realty Team

Original Home of "Market In A Minute" Real Estate Report for Raleigh Cary CH & Durham Triangle

Carolina Life Real Estate and Relocation

 

Find Carla Freund Realty Team online:

   Ask Realtor Carla on Facebook    Ask Realtor Carla your Raleigh Cary Realtor on You Tube  Ask Realtor Carla your Raleigh Cary Realtor on Instagram  Ask Realtor Carla your Raleigh Cary Realtor on Twitter  

 

Created by Quinky - Freepik.com

Powered by RealBird.com

Contact Carla Freund, Broker, Keller Williams Preferred Realty,  Licensed Realtor® in North Carolina at 919-602-8489 to list your property for sale or to purchase a property in Cary, Raleigh, Morrisville, Apex, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Holly Springs, Pittsboro, Durham, Chapel Hill, Johnston County, and the surrounding areas.

Now accepting referrals.**Not meant as a solicitation to individuals already working with a Professional Real Estate Agent.**

Disclaimer: The information provided herein is supplied by several sources and is subject to change without notice. The Raleigh - Cary Home Reviews Blog, Keller Williams and Carla Freund does not guarantee or is any way responsible for its accuracy, and provides said information without warranties of any kind, either expressed or implied. Entries on Raleigh - Cary Home Reviews represent the opinions and ideas of the author(s). Raleigh - Cary Home Reviews Blog does not express the views of Keller Williams, or those of the broker.

Logo for Carla Freund Realty

Ask Realtor Carla your Raleigh Cary Apex Realtor

Keller Williams Preferred Realty - Raleigh NC

 

How can International Buyer Find Homes in Raleigh, Cary, Durham, Chapel Hill and Triangle Areas?

International Real Estate Search Translated into other Languages and Currencies: 

 

Comment balloon 16 commentsCarla Freund • January 19 2011 09:09AM

Comments

Carla - I can't say I had a 1000 showings last year, I had a few, but I also limit it to 4-5 per client and day, since I preview most of them, I can weed out the properties I know is not of interest, saves me and the client a lot of time. 

Posted by Terkel Sørensen, Realtor, 951.805.0773 , Bank owned and Short Sales (Real Estate Places) almost 9 years ago

Carla -  Wow!  Sounds like you are  a busy bee!  I know from past experience in real estate investing and selling my own primary residences how stressful it can be as a seller to drop what you are doing at a moments notice, especially when you have kids!  Setting appointments with home sellers is not as easy as some might think.  Needless to say I don't envy your job.

A Realtor is a respected designation and should be sought after in my opinion.  Nice post!

Posted by Nevin Williams, Senior Mortgage Advisor (Fairway Independent Mortgage Corporation) almost 9 years ago

I think that it is great that you are taking the time to tell buyers what happens behind the scenes to set up the viewing of homes.  It can be a challenge for sure! 

Posted by Karen Feltman, Relocation Specialist in Cedar Rapids, Iowa (Cedar Rapids/Iowa City, IA KW Legacy Group) almost 9 years ago

I came across this post while I am waiting on 3 different agents to call me back to confirm my showing appts for tomorrow.  It is so true - scheduling showings can take alot of time!

Posted by Terry McCarley, REALTOR, SRES, CDPE - Cape Coral, FL (REMAX Realty Team - Cape Coral FL) almost 9 years ago
Personally, I'm amazed at how quickly agents drop whatever they are doing to show a cruising buyer one home. I have a current client who must've seen 15 homes (called the listing agent each time), before coming to me. I explained buyer/seller agency and asked for loyalty. She told me all about her previous escapades over the previous week -- some days she was out with 2 different agents! We expect to make an offer this weekend.
Posted by Curt Hess, Luxury Home Consultant, Team Leader & CEO (ExecuHome Realty) almost 9 years ago
Personally, I'm amazed at how quickly agents drop whatever they are doing to show a cruising buyer one home. I have a current client who must've seen 15 homes (called the listing agent each time), before coming to me. I explained buyer/seller agency and asked for loyalty. She told me all about her previous escapades over the previous week -- some days she was out with 2 different agents! We expect to make an offer this weekend.
Posted by Curt Hess, Luxury Home Consultant, Team Leader & CEO (ExecuHome Realty) almost 9 years ago

Carla,

This is part of the business that I really hate. Actually, setting up appointments is just next to having keys that don't work.

Brian

Posted by Brian Madigan, LL.B., Broker (RE/MAX West Realty Inc., Brokerage (Toronto)) almost 9 years ago

Great post Carla! Making appointments can be extremely challenging, especially when your clients throw in a house or two or take one out. It can really throw off the whole itinerary.  I'm going to check out the rest of your series.  Good job!

Posted by Julianne O'Reilly, Syracuse New York Real Estate (Syracuse Listings) almost 9 years ago

This is a great point. It is one of many reasons to use an agent. Also, how many times does an owner have to be stood up for a showing before being ready to use an agent? It gets old very quickly.

Posted by Jonathan Goode (AlaLandCo (Land for Sale in West Alabama)) almost 9 years ago

This is a great point. It is one of many reasons to use an agent. Also, how many times does an owner have to be stood up for a showing before being ready to use an agent? It gets old very quickly.

Posted by Jonathan Goode (AlaLandCo (Land for Sale in West Alabama)) almost 9 years ago

I like the way you describe how realtors take the wear and tear out of house buying and selling.  I would love to think buyers and sellers understood our jobs this way, too!

Posted by Ellen Kippel, Licensed NY and NJ realtor 914-588-2365 (Weichert Realtors) almost 9 years ago

Carla,

A centralized appointment system isn't typical in my area, so it takes even more calls. Normally the buyer agent books directly with the seller. Had 1 recently insist on an exact time - a 30 minute arrival window upset her greatly.  When I explained how buyers may linger in one home and rush through the next, she understood.

So a great post like yours helps us all!

Posted by Irene Kennedy Realtor® in Northwestern NJ (Weichert) almost 9 years ago

Hi Carla - and it is a headache!  I LOVE real estate but HATE making those appointments but it is necessary... we do take away that awful part of it when we have the listing...   Best, Gay

Posted by Gay E. Rosen, As Real as Real Estate Gets! (Julia B. Fee Sotheby's International Realty) almost 9 years ago

First of all, a thousand homes....WOW!!

But I have taken the opportunity to gain buyers by letting them know that I can show them any property.  A lot of buyers don't know that.  They think they have to call 5 different agents to se e 5 different properties.

Posted by MeLisa Minter, Realtor, Bay Area Houston Real Estate Agent (Minter Real Estate Services) almost 9 years ago

Terkel - Thanks for the suggestion. I do only show clients 4-5 homes a day but, when people are here for the weekend, we may look all weekend. 

Connie - Wow, I don't have too many showings with agents tagging along.  Occasionally the seller will want the list agent to be at the house but, not too often.  It really makes buyers uncomfortable.

Nevin - You're right, it can be stressful for sellers. Thank you for your encouraging words.

Karen - I think they're often just un-informed. However, I think you'll agree, there is so much more to our jobs than just showing homes.

Terry - Wow, you're having to wait for them to call you back. 

Curt - I know what you mean.  I really try to get them to come into the office and meet with me first.  If for no other reason than safety.

Posted by Carla Freund, Carolina Life RealEstate & Relocation 919-602-8489 (Keller Williams Preferred Realty) almost 9 years ago

Brian - Oh, that's another thing entirely! We still use lock boxes and sometimes you have things like boxes that won't open due to the weather.

Julianna - You're right.  Sometimes buyers decide to leave out a home.

Jonathan - Good question, if I go to a house, I try to at least go in myself and take a look so I can give constructive feedback.

Ellen - There are some who I think do understand it isn't easy.  And still, others who would never do what we do.

Irene - Oh goodness. I'm sorry for you.  It would help your business so much if you had the Centralized Showing System.  It's so worth the money.

Gay - Making the appointments can be a headache when it doesn't go smoothly.

MeLisa - Great job with letting buyers know you can show them all the homes they want to see.  I feel a little embarrassed - I didn't realize that was a lot of showings.  Less than 100 homes a month and less than 25 a week.  I guess there's so much inventory they really want to see that we end up showing a lot of homes.

Posted by Carla Freund, Carolina Life RealEstate & Relocation 919-602-8489 (Keller Williams Preferred Realty) almost 9 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments